Apogee Studio hosts MTV’s “O Music Awards”

On June 19, 2013, Apogee Electronics hosted a string of live performances at the company’s Apogee Studio as part of the MTV’s “O Music Awards,” an online event that celebrates artist talent on the web with nonstop live performances.

Broadcasted live on MTV.com, VH1.com and CMT.com over a 24 hour period, the O Music Awards made its way across the nation’s most popular music cities, including New York, Nashville and Los Angeles. The Los Angeles portion, hosted exclusively at Apogee Studio, featured acts such as Grouplove, Robert Schwartzman (of Rooney), Tennis System, Night Riots and The Mowglis.

All performances held at Apogee Studio were captured with the help of Apogee Electronics’ flagship audio interface, Symphony I/O, and mixed live-to-broadcast by engineer Kevin Harp. While Harp manned the control room’s Neve 8068, engineer Brandon Duncan handled all stage and front-of-house sound.

The web concert began at 7 p.m. EST with the acts broadcasted from the Apogee Studio kicking off around 2 a.m. EST and concluding around 7 a.m.

Awards included Best Interactive Music Video (“Lost In the Echo” by Linkin Park), Best Web-Born Artist (Kitty), Best Music App (“Crowdsync”) and Must-Follow Artist On Twitter (Andrew W.K.).


Watch the performances on the O Music Award Blog >

Tennis System
Night Riots
The Mowglis